IT’S BACK!!!!


What came off........Yup, The Boot is back on the road after engine work……Dan’s been manic so with a lot of pestering and persuasion over Thursday night and Saturday, Dan and I got The Boot done. Sorry, should clarify that Dan did 99% of it, John took a break from his trike to help (and clean) and I got the tea’s, sarnies and watched and learnt.

300 miles running round to run it in now but with Dan’s comment of “I reckon you’ll like that” after his road test I set out to see what differences the works made. As I said I’m going to run it on over the next 300 miles or so but I got home with a grin a Cheshire cat would’ve been proud of! Got home, had a tea (its an age thing) then grabbed my lid and headed straight back out again for another hour or so…..for the first time in ages I did not want to stop riding The Boot.

OK, what was done? Probably the easiest way to tell you is to list it all down with a list of everything I saw and a list of all the parts replaced/renewed.

In a nutshell, the engine was split and all gaskets, bearings and seals were replaced. The Indian 175 kit was removed and replaced with the Casa 185 kit. The Boot already had an electronic kit fitted but this was a cheap Indian affair and was missing a couple of fins, so this was changed to a GP flywheel. The internals of the Boot were all original Spanish bits, original 125 gearbox in good condition though needed reshimming, clutch was original and in reasonable condition, and it had a Spanish Li125 crank in reasonable nick.

The scooter already had a 20mm standard carb on it and for the time being we’re sticking with this, just upjetted it. Also, since the 42mm clubman is only a couple of months old I’m sticking with that. Having said all that there are plans for future development to try a 26mm carb and an expansion pipe to see if that changes anything.

So whats new, heres the list of the new bits and bobs added;

  • GP race crankshaft
  • driveside oilseal
  • large and small mag seal oilseals
  • driveside bearing
  • GP flywheel bearing
  • gear cluster needle bearing
  • layshaft needle bearings
  • clutch bell needle bearing
  • end plate ball race bearing
  • M7 gearbox end plate nut
  • 81 link chain
  • quick slip top chain guide
  • front sprocket 17T
  • clutch tab washer
  • set of clutch plates – cork Surflex B
  • Italian gear selector
  • gearbox shim 2.0
  • gearbox oil
  • 5899-2 atomiser
  • 109 main jet
  • brake shoes for rear brake
  • Casa 185 kit
  • gasket set

Most of the stuff like the barrel & piston, front sprocket, crank etc are in good useable condition so I’ve now also got a box of bits waiting to either be cleaned up and stored or sold on.

Managed to take some photos while it was being worked on so, in no particular order, here they are….enjoy 🙂

AND (yup theres more), my better half had got a birthday surprise for The Boot and me when I went to pick it up…..a new rear badge;

 

 

Leave a comment